Author: LETHABY, W.R.
Publisher: London, Duckworth, 1925
First edition, a special presentation copy to wood carver Frederic Stuttig signed by 40 colleagues at The Central School of Art and Design on the occasion of his retirement from teaching, in 1928. The signatures arranged over pp.  front endpapers on separate fancy lines alternately delineated in blue and red ink - see annexed list of identified signatories - preceded by a calligraphic inscription “by his Colleagues” to Stuttig in red ink.
8vo., numerous monotone illustrations from the author’s drawings of architectural facades and details etc., in a bespoke School binding (binder’s label to rear pastedown) of polished dark tan calf gilt with the dedicatee’s ‘FS’ monogram blocked to upper cover in green and gilt, all edges gilt. A unique and very attractive copy.
The Central School of Arts and Crafts was established in 1896 by the London County Council. It became part of the London Institute in 1986 and in 1989 merged with Saint Martin's School of Art to form Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design.
William Richard Lethaby (1857-1931) trained and practised as an architect, but was also a designer, educator, and architectural theorist and historian. He was a very important influence on art education and on the Arts and Crafts movement of late Victorian Britain. He served as the first principal of the Central School from 1896 until 1912, and in 1906 was appointed to the role of surveyor to the dean and chapter of Westminster Abbey.
Paris-born Stuttig (fl. 1891 - 1934) settled in England before 1891 and married Mione Violet Cooke in 1911. From the late 1890s he taught wood carving and gilding at the Central School and at Camberwell.